Ping alerting applications are available for both iOS and Android devices. The mobile apps are available for use for all full Ping users and allow receipt of alerts on your mobile device immediately as the alert triggers.
Links to Ping Alerting Mobile applications
Setup Ping Alerting Mobile App
- Ensure you can access the Ping application server in the browser. You may need to be connected to your work wifi network or have your work VPN enabled where this server is protected by your orgnisations firewall.
- Install the app from the relevant store
- Open the app and be sure to allow access to enable notifications (on opening the first time only)
- Enter the Ping Alerting application server address including the http or https reference and the port number. E.g. http://pingalerting.com:4551 or https://10.10.10.10:4552 (this can be the IP address of recognised external domain name of the server)
- Enter your Ping user name
- Enter your password
When you log in to the Ping server through the mobile device a token is passed across to Ping so that it can identify the device to send a notification to. This stores a record in the User devices area in the menu from the Avatar in the Ping Web Application.
Signing out from Ping Alerting Mobile app
Ensure you can access the Ping application server in the browser. You may need to be connected to your work wifi network or have your work VPN enabled where this server is protected by your organisations firewall.
- From the menu select logout
When you log out from Ping the device will be deleted from your user devices on the Ping web server. You will not be able to logout of Ping if you are not able to see the Ping server because of firewall restrictions etc.
Connecting to a New Ping Instance when the Old install is not available
- When the old server is not available, perhaps the IP or DNS has been changed, you will not be able to logout.
- Uninstall the app on your mobile device.
- Check the user devices (from the avatar drop down menu) in the Ping web app to ensure the device is not registered already. If he device is shown you should delete this record.
- Reinstall the app and follow steps to setup as above
Unfortunately, at this time, you will have lost your alert history on the device.